Skip to main content

            All the award winners celebrating


Theater World Day – March 20

4th edition of CBTIJ/ASSITEJ Brasil Theater Award

March 21 was the date CBTIJ/ASSITEJ Brasil set aside to celebrate Theater World Day 2018 and to honor theater artists and technicians who are committed to high quality theater for young audiences in Rio and Brazil.

Once more our partner SESI – Serviço Social da Indústria hosted our celebration at their downtown venue. The celebration was presented by Augusto Madeira and Cláudio Mendes, two dear colleagues who managed to keep the pace of a ceremony meant to honor each of its 26 categories.

The greatest winner was Makuru – um musical de ninar (Makuru – a lullaby musical), created by José Mauro Brandt and Tim Rescala, which earned 9 awards (Best Show of the Year, Original Script, Actress in a Supporting Role, Set Design, Costume Design, Light Design, Original Score, Scenic Projections and Production Design). The show portrays the fantastic universe of creatures that inhabit a small child’s dreamworld and how they work as masters through the little ones’ journeys into life.

Two productions earned special commendations for their outstanding artistic achievements: Jongo Mamulengo, created by the Coletivo Bonobando and directed by Adriana Schneider, a blend of a traditional Brazilian puppet technique (the mamulengo) and the Brazilian-African dance and music style jongo; and Achadouros, a show for early ages, which stages the art of the Brazilian poet Manoel de Barros in a non-verbal performance.

Each year, CBTIJ/ASSITEJ Brasil Theater Award honors a distinguished artist for his/her contribution to TYA. This year’s special honor recipient was actor Ricardo Blat, who has engaged in several performances for young audiences over a highly successful and critically acclaimed career spaning nearly 50 years. 

The jury was presided by Cleiton Echeveste (playwright, theater director and president of the board of CBTIJ/ASSITEJ Brasil) and was formed by Professor Angela Reis, PhD (Rio de Janeiro State Federal University), Demetrio Nicolau (theater director and member of the board of CBTIJ/ASSITEJ Brasil), Marcia Frederico (theater educator and member of the board of CBTIJ/ASSITEJ Brasil), Miguel Vellinho (doctoral researcher and artistic director of Cia PeQuod, also a member of the board of CBTIJ/ASSITEJ Brasil) and Rogério Freitas (actor).

During the ceremony, the ASSITEJ President’s message was read for the audience. During the month of March, CBTIJ/ASSITEJ posted this message and also the guests’ messages in its website and Facebook fanpage. The campaign #Leveumacriançaaoteatro (#Takeachildtothetheater) in our social media was also part of our celebrations of Theater World Day.


Welcome message by Mariana Justino Bastos Gondim and the President of CBTIJ-ASSITEJ Brasil Cleiton Echeveste                           


You may now browse the website in English, Spanish, French, Chinese, Arabic, or Russian by using the button on the top-right of the page.

Please note that these are AI translations that have not yet been manually checked.