Skip to main content


ASSITEJ would like to thank all the centers who participated in sending their nominations.

The awardees will be made public during the Award Ceremony at the 19th ASSITEJ World Congress in Cape Town, where they will be honored and receive their awards.

In recognition to all of the artists nominated, we would like to share their names and countries.

ASSITEJ Award for Artistic Excellence/Honorary Presidents’ Award:

In total, we received 15 nominations:

Armenia – Theatre for Changes, Australia – Andrew Wright, Belgium – Johan de Smet, China – Yin Xiaodong, Finland – Dance Theatre Hurjaruuth’s Winter Circus, India – Krishnakumar Balasubramanian, Iran – Mohammad Boroumand, Ireland – Mike Kenny, Namibia – Kapenangutjiua Vetira, Norway – Dr. Lise Hovik, Palestine – Al-Harah Theatre, Russia – Nadezhda Alexeeva, Scotland – Natasha Gilmore, Sri Lanka – Mohamed Gause Mohamed Safeer, and Sweden – Mattias Andersson.

ASSITEJ Applause for Lifetime Achievement:

In its first edition, this award received 5 nominations:

Germany – Prof. Dr. Christel Hoffmann, Israel – Dr. Razi Amitai, Korea – Sookhee Kim, Spain – Carlos Herans Diaz, and UK – Jude Merrill.

You may now browse the website in English, Spanish, French, Chinese, Arabic, or Russian by using the button on the top-right of the page.

Please note that these are AI translations that have not yet been manually checked.