Skip to main content


After lots of months of preparation and two postponements due to the Covid-19 restrictions, the Founding Assembly of Assitej Cyprus took place in Nicosia, on 17March 2021. During the Assembly, the Centre’s statute was presented, while its aims were outlined to the 155 members. The elections for the first Assitej Cyprus board saw 28 candidates compete for the nine available seats.

The elected members of the board are:

Stavros Stavrou (President), Eleni Anastasiou (Vice-president), Nectarios Theodorou (Secretary), Stelios Kallistratis (Treasurer), Alex Panayi, Kiki Argyrou, Eleni Moleski, Nayia T. Karacosta & Nandia Tomasidou.

In its first meeting, the board also appointed two honorary members of the body:

Marina Maleni – Dramaturg and Communications expert, Head of the Theatre Development Department of the Cyprus State Theatre.

Leda Koursoumba – Lawyer and former Commissioner for the protection of children’s rights.

Small Countries Network

Assitej Cyprus took part in the Assitej World Congress, just some days after it was founded.

Some of the first actions of the board include a series of get-to-know meetings with Assitej national centres all over the world, an initiative to create a Small Countries Network with national centres of countries with a population of less than 1 million, as well as the translation of the Assitej Manifesto in Greek and Turkish.

Assitej Cyprus community

The board also decided for the creation of three commissions as well as eight working groups to engage the Assitej Cyprus community. These include groups on research, playwriting for young audiences, baby-theatre and others.

It is the beginning of the journey, but it is already an exciting one! It seems that… dreams do come true in the end!

You may now browse the website in English, Spanish, French, Chinese, Arabic, or Russian by using the button on the top-right of the page.

Please note that these are AI translations that have not yet been manually checked.