

International Association of Theatre for Children and Young People

The ASSITEJ International Award for Artistic Excellence

Honorary Presidents' Award - 2017

Invitation for application

The ASSITEJ Award for Artistic Excellence/Honorary Presidents' Award is given every three years for noteworthy achievement in the field of theater for children and young people, and is the most prestigious award given by the organization.

The award is given to an individual or to a company working in the field of Theater for Children and Young People, nominated by either their national ASSITEJ Center or by a professional network, which is a Full Member of ASSITEJ.

The Award for Artistic Excellence is based on innovative work done in the three years prior to the application deadline. The committee adjudicating the award will give special priority to emerging artists, new and exciting companies, although established individuals or theaters that begin working in a new and innovative way will also be considered.

It was to recognize emerging artists and innovation that the award was created by Dr. Nat Eek, Honorary President and former ASSITEJ World President (1972-75) in memory of his wife, Patricia Fulton Eek.

The award was named and presented in commemoration of all Honorary Presidents of ASSITEJ, those past and those yet to come, including:

Gerald Tyler (Great Britain), Konstantin Shak-Azizov (Russia), Nat Eek (USA), Vladimir Adamek (Czechoslovakia), Ilse Rodenberg (GDR),

Michael FitzGerald (Australia), and Wolfgang Schneider (Germany).

The award carries a prize of \$5,000, an engraved silver goblet, and a bottle of champagne for the celebration.

Past winners:

1996: Michael Bartenev (Russia), The Barking Gecko Theatre Company (Australia),

Volker Ludwig (Germany) and Ray Nüsselein (Denmark)

1999: Arena Theatre (Australia)

Eva Bergman (Sweden) - Honorable Mention

2002: Suzanne Osten (Sweden)

2005: The Zeal Theatre (Australia)

Kim Woo Ok (Korea)

2008:

La Baracca (Italy)

2011: Teatret Gruppe 38 (Sweden)

NIE, New International Encounters (Various)

2014:

Liesbeth Coltof (Netherlands)

The criteria for the winning of the ASSITEJ Award for Artistic Excellence/Honorary

Presidents' Award are:

• The Award is given every three years in an appropriate ceremony at the current World Congress.

• The Award is given to an individual creative artist or company that has achieved noteworthy artistic excellence in theatre for children and young people.

• Only the creative work during the previous three years by an individual artist or group can be considered for the Award

• Once a member of a National Center has won the Award, that center may not make a nomination again until six years later, or the second World Congress after receiving the Award.

• No individual artist or group may receive the Award more than once.

Nomination Process

• At each World Congress, the Secretary-General will make available to all National Centers the announcement of the award for the next Congress, a list of the history, rules, and regulations, along with a nomination form. All this information will also be available on the ASSITEJ website.

 ${\boldsymbol \cdot}$ Centres will be alerted of the due date for nominations in the second year of the EC term.

• The nomination form includes the following: All artists or theater companies must be nominated by either a National Center or a professional network. Each of these full members is allowed only **one** nomination per award cycle.

• All completed nomination forms must be received by the Secretariat by the deadline date indicated on the form, usually around six months prior to the date of the next World Congress.

Jury Selection

• During the second year of each term, the President of ASSITEJ, with the approval of the Executive Committee, selects and appoints the five-member Jury. Three members are chosen from the current EXCOM, and two are appointed from among the National Centers not on the EXCOM.

• The Jury meets to review the nominations and to select an Awardee during the EC Meeting prior to the next World Congress.

Deadline for application by Full Members of ASSITEJ November 10th 2016. Official Nomination Form - 2017 <u>HERE</u>

Opportunity

f 🎽